60 Main St.

Thomaston Maine 04861


(207) 354-2453


 Thomaston Public Library


Mondays and Fridays: 11-7

Tues, Weds, Thurs: 11-5

Saturdays: 9-1

Sundays: Closed

Staff and Board of trustees




Diane Giese, Head Librarian, has an English degree from Mount Holyoke College and much experience as a non-profit administrator and former restaurateur.  A transplant to the Midcoast, she is still struck by the beauty and people of Thomaston, and lives in town with her rescue dogs in view of the St George River.

Contact her at:  headlibrarian@thomaston.lib.me.us



Melissa Harjula came to Thomaston Public Library first as a volunteer.  During the summer of 2015 she was a key leader for our “40 Days of Summer” program and is often helping our patrons at the circulation desk.  A native of Cushing, Missy, now living in Thomaston, loves her many animals, including the dogs, ducks, donkeys, and cats.



Blake Donaldson has been with the library since 1998.  While he has expertise in nearly every operation of TPL, his current specialty is being the Catalog Development guru. Made in Maine and educated at University of Maine at Orono with a major in history, Blake lives in Thomaston with his lovely wife Alethé.



Caroline Ward-Nesbit is a native of Maine and comes to the library with a degree in Chemistry as well as a decade of customer service experience. She is the face of our Book Mail videos, adores geeking out about books and all things library related. She enjoys camping and hiking with her husband John and has been learning to sew.



Caitlin Theroux is a native of Rockland, but went to high school at Georges Valley High in Thomaston. She studied Journalism and Creative Writing in Quincy, Massachusetts and has self-published a novel. Armed with a love of books, she joins the library staff ready to recommend a read to anyone. Currently she prefers a night in with her husband, her dog, her family, and a load of homemade snacks. She is working on a memoir.



Thomaston Public Library Board of Trustees


Janet Bosworth - President

Greg Hamlin - Secretary

Albert Bernier Jr.

Karen Clarke

William Dashiell

Marie Finnegan

Patricia Smith

Harold Willey